Man (ME) In the Mirror

Who doesn’t love Michael Jackson and the great music he made?  One of my favorite songs by the “King of Pop” is “The Man In the Mirror”.  It is a soul-searching, soul-stirring piece that makes you reflect and hopefully take a serious look at that person in the mirror.

This has been my journey this year maybe more so than any other time in my life, I seek to change me! Change my attitude, my preconceived ideas based on the opinions of society as a whole.  This is a flawed premise to begin with, I can not justify my actions any longer based on the ill-informed, misguided (although well-meaning) biases of generations long gone. So I seek to look into that mirror; this is scary because it takes committment, time and for lack of a better word, gonads…

Here are some of the lyrics I have focused on for myself:

I’m Starting With The Man In
The Mirror,    – (Looking at the heart of me!) Even scripture remarks on the heart of man being wicked who can know it but God? 
(Man In The Mirror-Oh
Yeah!)
I’m Asking Him To Change
His Ways   –  (Earnest heart change, we can not legislate/mandate change, the imposition of another’s will on people can not continue, it goes against nature)
(Better Change!)
No Message Could Have Been Any Clearer – (Plain as day, as the nose on my face…)

(If You Wanna Make The

World A Better Place)
(Take A Look At Yourself And
Then Make The Change) – (What else can to be said… I am taking the words of this great and powerful song as my guide to make me a better place)

I do not believe there is one living soul who does not understand that “humankind” must change the manner in which we relate to one another.  We are family, we are our brother’s keeper, we must absolutely change our minds, change our attitudes, change our hearts and put into action the love of self into others to see a difference in this world.

In addition to this I am not so naive to discount those who do not love themselves and this is where “others” work of acceptance comes into play.  There is no ugly person, there is no illiterate person, no one is ignorant if we help one another to develop the gifts within.  We all have gifts, talents to share with one another; we are a body collectively. How can the hand say to the arm I am not a part of you? Nothing gets done with this attitude.

I choose to be a better me, I must do the work and it is a big challenge and I accept the challenge. I must be a better me, there is no other way to become that beacon of light for the children who follow in my footsteps.  I am committed to the work because we must leave a better place for the children.  Our children are “our” future, if we do not make the efforts now where does that leave us?  The by-word for this time we find ourselves in is COLLECTIVELY.

rely some have heard the idiom “no man is an island” remember this as it is truth.  The space I occupy is in direct relationship to all those I come in contact with.  So I chose to change, I chose to look at the ME in the mirror.  Got work to do…challenge yourself too, you can do it !

About the post

Education, Opinion

Leave a Reply

Wild Edible and Medicinal Plants

using what nature provides in plants

dralimelbeyinsidescoop

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

13:20 FREQUENCY SHIFT

Crossing the Bridge of Time - by Stephanie South

Moorish News

Reporting information regarding the Moors of North America branded Negro, Colored, and Black and their transition from waking sleep to full consciousness

Blackfulla Revolution

From our Fire, new life will grow

About reporting

The official website of the class known as 4450/7450

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

United African Movement

No Justice No Peace

rottenindenmark.wordpress.com/

Is this gentleman bothering you?

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

Crooked Eclipses

Critical writings for critical times

The Disorder Of Things

For the Relentless Criticism of All Existing Conditions Since 2010

Chasing Truth. Catching Hell.

A Public Defender's Blog, @normdeguerreesq

Justice in Conflict

On the challenges of pursuing justice

The Civil Word

civil: of or relating to ordinary citizens and their concerns.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Sixty-Sixty

Reminiscence, Reflection

Curmudgeon at Large

Short bursts of curmudgeonry on any topic.